Oh How Christian Music Has Changed…

Recently I’ve been introduced to some Christian music from the 80’s and 90’s I hadn’t heard before and it’s been pretty fun! I recently bought a CD by Rich Mullins, who I know has had a huge influence on Andrew Peterson, who I believe to be the best Christian songwriter around today, and I’m really enjoying that album now. In fact, from my tireless observations of the Christian music world as we know it, I would say that Andrew Peterson is one of the few artists in the industry who are writing songs of that caliber. The stuff you hear on the radio isn’t all bad, but if you hold it up next to songs people like Rich Mullins, Keith Green, or Bryan Duncan were writing 20-30 years ago, they just don’t compare.

With that, I thought I’d share a few songs that have stuck out to me as a bit of a blast from the past of Christian music. The links below will take you to YouTube uploads of the songs, and I’ve also included links to the lyrics. I hope you enjoy them!

“Dying To Meet You” by Bryan Duncan [LYRICS]

“I See You” by Rich Mullins [LYRICS]

“Oh Lord, You Are Beautiful” by Keith Green [LYRICS]

“Stop the World” by Randy Stonehill [LYRICS]

…and here’s “The Reckoning (How Long)” by Andrew Peterson too because I can’t resist! [LYRICS]

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment